June 17, 2024


We Digest News to tell the Truth

NEC President Urges Journalists to Report Professionally on Candidates in Upcoming Elections

The President of the National Electoral Commission (NEC) in Rwanda, Mrs. Oda Gasinzigwa, emphasized the importance of professionalism among journalists when reporting on candidates in the upcoming combined elections for the President and Deputies. She urged journalists to adhere to rules and regulations while waiting for the official campaign period.

Mrs. Gasinzigwa made these remarks on Thursday, May 30, 2024, following the conclusion of the candidacy submission process for those vying for the positions of President and members of Parliament in Rwanda. The process began on May 17, 2024.

During the candidacy submission period, a total of 9 individuals expressed their intention to run for the presidency, with two candidates nominated by Political Parties – RPF Inkotanyi and the Democratic Green Party of Rwanda (DGPR) – and 7 independent candidates.

In addition to the presidential candidates, a significant number of individuals also expressed their interest in running for seats as MPs. Various categories of candidates were included, such as those nominated by 6 Political Parties and special categories like youth, women, and Persons with disabilities.

Looking ahead, Mrs. Gasinzigwa outlined the next steps in the electoral process. The NEC will review all submitted documents from May 31 to June 6, 2024, after which a provisional list of approved candidates will be published on June 6. The final list of candidates to appear on the ballot paper will be announced on June 14.

Mrs. Gasinzigwa expressed gratitude to the media for their role in publicizing the electoral process and educating the public. However, she reminded journalists to act professionally and avoid engaging in activities that could compromise the integrity of the elections.

The combined elections for the President and MPs are scheduled to take place on July 14, 15, and 16, 2024. Rwandans living abroad will vote on July 14, while those within the country will cast their votes on July 15. The elections will determine the President as well as 53 MPs from political parties and independents, with an additional 24 women Representatives, two youth representatives, and one representative for the Person with disabilities being elected on July 16.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

TOPAFRICANEWS.COM © All rights reserved.